Listen to Bruce Springsteen Track “Shackled and Drawn”

With his 17th studio album set for release just two weeks from now, Bruce Springsteen will be streaming a song a day starting today to get fans even more geared up for Wrecking Ball. Today’s song is “Shackled and Drawn and can be streamed here today only.

We’ve already heard a few tracks off Wrecking Ball, as the lead single “We Take Care of Our Own” was released last month (see music video below). Wrecking Ball is the first Springsteen album since 2009’s Working on a Dream, which debuted number one on the charts.

From what we’ve heard, it appears the album has a strong political message, as the financial crisis has motivated Springsteen to bash the political powers and question American moral with songs like “We Take Care of Our Own” and “Easy Money.” He recently shared his motivation behind the songs during a performance in Paris, saying: “I have spent my life judging the distance between American reality and the American dream…What was done to our country was wrong and unpatriotic and un-American and nobody has been held to account. There is a real patriotism underneath the best of my music but it is a critical, questioning and often angry patriotism.”

Although theme-wise the album has a straight-forward, anti-Wallstreet theme, the music is very experimental with inspiration coming from many different places. Springsteen explained the writing process to Rolling Stone, “The record basically started out as folk music – just me and a guitar singing these songs…Then Ron brought a large library of sound that allowed me to explore – like maybe a hip-hop drum loop or country-blues stomp loop. The actual drums came later. There was no preconceived set of instruments that needed to be used, I could go anywhere, do anything, use anything. It was very wide open.”

Springsteen‘s long-time friend and E Street Band member Clarence Clemens makes an appearance on the album, shining with a saxophone solo in “Hope and Dreams.” Clemens’ nephew will play saxophone on Bruce Springsteen’s 2012 world tour.

The tour is set to take off March 18th at Phillips Arena in Atlanta, Georgia before climbing up the East Coast, across the Midwest, as well as West Coast shows in San Jose and Los Angels. Tour highlights are sure to include Springsteen‘s back-to-back hometown concerts at the Izod Center in East Rutherford, New Jersey April 3rd and 4th, as well as back-to-back shows April 6th and 9th at the world famous Madison Square Garden in New York City, and finally a two-night-stand March 28th and 29th at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Springsteen and the E Street Band will close the tour out with a May 2nd show at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey before heading overseas to Europe for a stadium tour until the end of July.

The 19 currently scheduled U.S. tour dates represent the first leg of his 2012 “Wrecking Ball” tour, and more dates are expected for the fall, so be sure to sign up for Bruce Springsteen Gig Alerts to find out when additional tour dates are announced.

Wrecking Ball Tracklist:

  1. We Take Care of Our Own
  2. Easy Money
  3. Shackled and Down
  4. Jack of All Trades
  5. Death to My Hometown
  6. The Depression
  7. Wrecking Ball
  8. You’ve Got It
  9. Rocky Ground
  10. Land of Hope and Dreams
  11. We Are Live
  12. Swallowed Up (iTunes Bonus Track)
  13. American Land (iTunes Bonus Track)

Check out the music video for “We Take Care of Our Own”

[5gig_artist]bruce springsteen:all[/5gig_artist]


Comments are closed.